Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

M-AUDIO USB Keyboard Works on April 2011 Mac But Not Apple MacBook Pro 2016 TouchBar

I'm a new Pro subscriber to ScoreCloud. I'm attempting to record a short musical segment via my M-AUDIO USB keyboard. Hearing sound output while recording, then analyzing on my April 2011 Apple MacBook Pro works flawlessly. I am plugging my USB cable directly into the side of my April 2011 Apple MacBook Pro.

When attempting the same workflow on my Apple MacBook Pro 2016 TouchBar I cannot plug the M-AUDIO USB keyboard into the side of the newer Mac because there are no USB inputs, only Thunderbolt 3 ports. I have successfully used many USB connectors on an external Belkin 4-USB port device that plugs into one of the Thunderbolt 3 ports, which is on the side of my newer Mac. I've never had a USB connectivity problem with the Belkin, until today.

After opening the preferences on both Macs, the Audio/MIDI settings are as follows:

Older Mac that allows me to record:

Audio Input - System Default
Audio Output - System Default
MIDI Input - All
MIDI Playback - Audio Output
Midi Echo - Same as Playback
Status - Green light

Newer Mac that does not allow me to record:

Audio Input - System Default
Audio Output - System Default
MIDI Input - All
MIDI Playback - Audio Output
Midi Echo - Same as Playback
Status - Red light

NOTE: "Audio Input" text is in Red
NOTE: While attempting to set to MIDI Input to "All", I received a popup window that said, "Could not start the audio engine. The TCP port 7770 is occupied

Any assistance would be appreciated.
Thank you,
Tony

Comments

• LeifOLeifO Administrator
    Hello Tony, I think you had a reply from support, but for now, can you select the 'option try another port'?
  • TonyVTTonyVT Member
    Hi, yes, I did receive a reply from support. I'm away on a business trip. I'll be able to check the port option when I get home. Thank you!